Nintendo – My First Geek Love

5 Apr

 

The Original Nintendo Entertainment System

I’m a Nintendo Girl through and through.   I began playing the 8-bit Nintendo Entertainment System at my birth-buddy’s place.  He and I were born at the same time, but his family was more affluent than mine.  Thus, they got a NES, and I went to his house all the time to play.  We got Super Mario Brothers to begin.  Over time, more of my friends got Nintendos.  I played Castlevania, Donkey Kong, Mario 2 and 3, Track & Field, Double Dragon, Mike Tyson’s Punch-out, all three Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles games and Final Fantasy (to name a few!).

Then, one Easter it happened.  The Easter Bunny left my sisters and I a Nintendo!  We were enthralled.  We owned games such as The Legend of Zelda, Dr. Mario, Star Tropics, Tetris, Duck Tales, and yes, a McDonald’s game called McKids.

What the hell kind of brainwashing was this?

We couldn’t get enough.  We borrowed games from friends.  We rented games from the video store.  My babysitter brought us games like Paper Boy, Bubble Bobble, Skate or Die! and Jaws.  It was a never ending gaming party.  I loved it.

Of course, I played outside too.  I was a healthy kid.  But I was a kid born at just the right time to live through the evolution of console gaming.

Alas, Atari. I never knew you.

Although I didn’t have an Atari, my dad did.  I have no recollection of playing, but I think it’s still mouldering in his basement somewhere.  I hope someday to find it.  But I did play through a ton of systems.  Of course, as I said, I’m a Nintendo girl, so I owned the Nintendo iterations and played on my friends’ Sega and Sony systems.  The only time I folded and bought a Sega of my own, it was the Sega Game Gear.  Not a smart move.  I totally should have gone for the GameBoy.

In the future, I may go into more detail on the myriad of systems I have played, but I felt it best to start with my 8-bit baby.

Did you play NES back in the day? What was your favourite game?

5 Responses to “Nintendo – My First Geek Love”

  1. jadedempire 6 April 2011 at 5:12 am #

    Contra is an unmistakable 2-player classic, so I’ll go with that. 😀

    • isaunter 6 April 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      Yeah, Contra started a lot of awesome. Konami FTW!

  2. GarthmeisterJ 6 April 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    I actually had a couple of friends who had old school Ataris. I even think I knew someone who had something very much like pong. Looking back they seem pretty crappy systems, but that didn’t stop us playing the hell out of them.

    I also had a couple of friends who had Nintendos, though I never owned one. My favourite game would probably have to be Super Mario Brothers 3, which was always a lot of fun. I do seem to remember playing a game that might have been called Shogun, where you played as a Japanese ruler trying to take over feudal Japan. Loooooooooooooong time ago though.

  3. rawrmaster 15 April 2011 at 10:46 am #

    The three TMNT games just got so much better. After the Ninja Gaiden-esque impossiblility of the first one, the Arcade version sequel was just so great. A breath of fresh air, it was!

  4. jeux gratuits en ligne 22 April 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Sincerely,it’s very refreshingthose things youpresent.Yet thereanother product for that…I have no name…I do not know…

Leave a Reply

